A Spooky Mystery for You to Solve!

This is the real ghost story that I promised earlier this week. I apologize for the lack of my usual  writing flair. The three-day migraine that I’m in the midst of seems to have stripped me of all creativity!

The following creepy occurrence kept me out of our basement for pretty much the rest of my teenaged years. What do you think it might have been?

Picture via trueghosttales.com

This mist is very similar to what I saw! What could it be?

As a teenager, I had an obsessive love-hate relationship with all things otherworldly. On one hand, I adored talking about and reading tales of poltergeist, demons, and monsters; but on the other hand, they scared the living crap out of me and forced me to sleep with the lights on whilst I pathetically begged my mother, in much the style of a three year-old, to sleep with me. By the time I’d turned 15, I’d read every ghost story that my small town’s library had to offer, and I’d listened in awe to every creepy story that my friends had to tell, but despite my burning interest, I had no personal ghost stories of my own to share. With my easy spookability, I’d certainly imagined ghoulish hands reaching from beneath my bed to snatch any limb or appendage that accidentally exited my covers during the night. I’d additionally witnessed demonic profiles and ghostly pictures haunting the shadows on my walls as I’d attempted to fall asleep. However, these spooks were merely figments of my very active imagination, and it wasn’t until January 1, 1980 that I had my first, and thankfully only, supernatural experience.

I remember the exact date because it was the last day of my winter break from school, and like most 15 year-olds, I’d put off doing any homework until the last possible moment. I’d gathered my books and headed downstairs to my usual study spot, our basement rec room. I’d just spread my school stuff out on half of the ping-pong table and settled into a chair swiped from the card table when I felt a swift, icy breeze sweep across my back and neck. Adrenaline shot through me and the hair on my arms instantly rose. I scanned the room for the source. The basement was completely underground making a wind of any temperature impossible. Our house was still decorated for the holidays, and I watched in terror as the wind that touched my neck ruffled the Christmas cards arranged atop a bookshelf on the opposite wall. From the shelf my eyes were instantly drawn to the slightly swaying branches of the Christmas tree situated in the corner directly beneath my bedroom. A cold, horror filled me as a foggy mist began surrounding the tree. The mist weaved and moved through the branches, and condensed around the nativity scene arranged on the tree’s skirt. My mother had long ago painted the figures for this crèche in a ceramics class, and my father had crafted the wooden stable that housed Mary, Joseph, and baby Jesus. Atop the stable’s entrance was an angel. I stared in disbelief as the ethereal fog thickened around it. I tried to call out to my mother, but no words would escape my lips as I watched the tiny cherub shake and rock from side-to-side. I remained frozen, feeling an overwhelming sense of evil, as its quaking and quivering continued. Finally, the angel dropped from the nail that it had once securely held it and hit the carpeted floor. It was then that I was released from my stiffness; then that I could scream and run breathlessly up the stairs to the security of my family.

At first, my parents naturally blamed my experience on my overactive imagination and my above average desire to put off schoolwork, but I think my mom eventually began to believe my tale after several sleepless weeks of being called to my room in the middle of the night. My friends thought my encounter was awesome and all had their theories about what I had seen. Was it a ghost? A demon? What do you think?

Have you ever had a ghostly encounter? Tell me about it.

31 thoughts on “A Spooky Mystery for You to Solve!

  1. This here is a pretty good story, Sprinkles! Scary. I’dve been freaked out, for sure. They say that cold air is a tell tale sign a ghost or spirit is near, and probably not a happy one!

    I, for one, do not see ghosts, per se, although, after myself and an aging neighbor discovered our other 89 year old neighbor dead in her home a few years back, I think her ‘ghost’ visited me afterwards. It was a silvery blue, barely-there mist, which stood in my bedroom doorway. I was aware I mostly saw it with my mind. But I was nudged to look at the doorway because my television screen, which had been off for hours, suddenly glowed silver, as if it was about to go on. That’s my ghost story.
    Happy Halloween! s

    • That’s a serious eek!! Any ghost story that involves a ghost at the end of the bed or in the bedroom doorway scares the heck out of me! Perhaps your neighbor was just dropping in to say “Thank you.”

      I got the distint feeling that my spirit wasn’t a friendly one, but I don’t know what I did to deserve a spooking. Perhaps it was the spirit of an old teacher, angry that I’d gotten lazy with my school work?!

      • Ha Ha -that’s it – blame it on the angry school master, like an old English novel. I think your ghost was not a friendly one, the way it knocked down that angel! Maybe all of your interest in spooky stuff back then “opened the door” for the dark spirit to come and find you? (anyway, that’s what they used to say in some fundamentalist christian group I long ago belonged to)

  2. Eek! This story is giving me chills up and down my arms. That is truly terrifying. At first I thought it was going to be a Casper-y ghost, until you described the feeling of evil and that it knocked the angel to the ground. I believe in ghosts to the degree I believe in aliens – I think it’s definitely possible, but haven’t seen any proof with my own two peepers! On the other hand, I’ve ABSOLUTELY been places where I’ve gotten incredibly bad ‘vibes’ and insisted on leaving. Once I went to an open house, and the house had a creepy, dark, stone basement off the kitchen that had to be haunted (it was a pretty old house, built around 1900 I think). My mom and I high-tailed it out of there! There’s also a park near where I grew up that my friend Jenn and I are convinced is haunted. You only have to drive by to get that icy feeling in the pit of your stomach. “Not haunted” was on my checklist when we were house-hunting two years ago, LOL HAPPY HALLOWEEN!

    • Not haunted is a must when house hunting! My daughter lives on the first floor of an 1800’s newly renovated farm house. When we went apartment hunting “Is it haunted?” was one of her first questions! You can’t be too careful when it comes to spooks!!

      Happy Halloween to you, too!! 🙂

  3. So spooky!! I can’t say that I’ve ever had any first-hand experiences with anything even remotely supernatural. The closest is, like Jules, when I get vibes about a place. In my days of traveling in Turkey, not knowing where I was going to stay until I got to my destination, I relied heavily on those vibes. It didn’t have anything to do with the actual look of the place and it didn’t matter how friendly the caretaker was. Some nice, friendly places left me with a creepy, cold feeling.

    (And I may be embarking on a 3-day migraine, so forgive the blandness of my comment! You, on the other hand, didn’t need to apologize for any perceived lack of flair – the writing was as engaging as always 🙂 )

    • I get those same hunches about places, too. Luckily, I haven’t been in many places that have creeped me out! I’m certainly glad that you used your instincts in Turkey. It’s hard to tell what sort of ancient spirit you might have run into!

      I hope you’re not getting a migraine. The pressure of that recent storm system did a number on my head. I’m all better now, thankfully! 🙂

  4. I get migraines, also. But I’m lucky because they are only ocular. I see flashes of light and all, but I don’t feel any pain.

    My new site has a Calvin and Hobbes theme to it. Yep, ol—or rather young—Calvin had the same night terrors that I sometimes had. There’s one book of collected comics called, “Something Under the Bed is Oozing.” I also watched scary movies, for some reason. It wasn’t too smart on my part because they really did, at times, scare the living daylights out of me.

    Beats me what occurred in your story was all about. Hmm. I’d like to say it was “a fog,” but fogs usually don’t get pissed off at the baby Jesus.

  5. This was eerie – and very well written. Very creepy the way the mist surrounded the tree. I have no idea!!! It’s a total freakout to me. I will NEVER forget seeing the movie The Entity with Barbara Hershey. It really chilled me that spirits could be captured & frozen. Great story, really really true??

    • Yep, it’s really, really true! 🙂 Luckily, it was the first and only supernatural experience that I’ve ever had. Perhaps I was spending so much time researching spooky things that one of the little buggers decided to visit me! That was a long time ago, and I certainly hope they don’t come back for a second visit!

      Thanks for checking out my blog! It’s nice to see new faces! 🙂

  6. That is an awesome story.

    I, too, have had some supernatural/mystical experiences.

    I haven’t figured out how to write about them without sounding weird.

    You did a great job.

    Also, I just saw that you are ANOTHER migraine sufferer.

    I have a post that I’m about to write about mine.

    I hope you are doing okay.

    You haven’t posted in a while.

    • Yeah. You haven’t been blogging for a while. Hope you are okay. It would be nice if you posted something once a week. You have a real knack for it.

  7. I would have been scared, but then I would have marched right over…and YELLED, the angel stays ON…and I would have put it back onto the stable. Then I would have immediately asked GOD to remove the evil from our presence while running up the stairs. (if the presence felt evil)

    I’ve had eerie sensations here and there and I talk to them. “Hey, how’s it going? I’m just visiting. I’m so and so…” I had a visit from husbands dead aunts. We were staying in their room when seeing Grandma.

    Sandi
    http://www.ahhsome.wordpress.com
    Lake Forest, CA

  8. That is very spooky indeed…..I can’t think of an explanation. Was it the drugs?

    One time I thought someone came into my house and was moving a penny around trying to scare me before torturing and then killing me. But I think I moved the penny and just forgot that I did that. So…..it wasn’t real.

    • That was many. many years ago, and fortunately nothing spooky has happened to me since! I do enjoy watching those creeping Paranormal Witness shows on TV and creeping myself out occasionally. Thanks for visiting my blog. 🙂

      • Hi there!! I’ve been away from my blog for far too long and I really do miss everyone. I was doing some PR writing for a friend who was overwhelmed with her business. Thankfully, that ended in Dec. when she hired a newly graduated college student because it was really all consuming. 🙂 I have to get used to personal writing again! How’ve you been?

      • I’m okay. Been very busy. Right now, I’m in the middle of recording all of Joseph Conrad’s works to audio. I have to record them at night because my home is directly beneath an air corridor for the local airport–that and lots of other noises that you don’t notice so much when you don’t need quietude.

Leave a Reply

