Monday Mumblings!

Greetings, fellow bloggers! I’ve gone a bit more than a week without posting, so I have some catching up to do. Here are a few of the topics that have kept me occupied in mind and body.

Shopping

I’m not notorious for loving to shop. In fact, I’ve been told that my shopping skills are similar to those of a man and a toddler. I tend to know what I want before I go, go directly to that item, and then buy it and leave. If I’m forced to shop beyond that point, that’s when the toddler behavior kicks in. I’ll complain about my legs hurting, that I’m hungry, thirsty, and that I need the potty. If that doesn’t work, I’ll cry and beg to be taken home. This behavior is especially disturbing to others when I’m shopping alone.

This past week I’ve shopped with my oldest daughter for her big move that’s occurring on Thursday of this week. She and I have similar shopping methods, so it wasn’t all that bad when we were shopping for things, like microwaves and coffee makers. It was the clothing shopping that felt like a one way ticket on the fast track to hell. She needed business professional and business casual clothing to begin school with. My jeans, t-shirt, and flip-flop girl did not enjoy shopping for these things, but luckily, thanks to the Prime Outlets in our area, she was able to find a basic wardrobe of appropriate attire without spending a huge fortune. (I didn’t mean for that to sound like an advertisement for Prime Outlets!) Shopping tip: Always keep a couple of waters and some Teddy Grahams in your purse for when the worm begins to turn.

Packing

I LOVE organizing things, so who better than good ol’ mom to help with my daughter’s packing. We’re saving money by not hiring movers or even renting a truck. I’ve created a very detailed plan for making this move work with our existing van (sans middle and back seats) and both of my daughters’ hatch-back Yari (the plural of Yaris, of course). Don’t let anyone ever tell you that you’re wasting time playing Tetris for several hours a day. It does come in handy when you need to maneuver an entire apartment’s worth of stuff in three vehicles!

True Blood

Now, that's just cute!

All of you out there who are Truebies know that HBO’s True Blood began its fourth season last night. This certainly kept my thoughts occupied as I counted down the days until I could gaze upon the sweet hot gorgeousness that is Alexander Skarsgard as Eric Northman. It was a celebration, complete with jalapeno and bacon pizza (my daughters’ favorite), strawberry soda, and blood-red velvet cupcakes. I realize that our late dinner would not be approved by the USDA’s dietary guidelines, but it was an evening worth breaking a few rules for!

 

Scrapbooking

My daughters and I have been scrapbooking like little maniacs in our free time. Both girls are chronicling our beach trip with their photos and writings. I’ve been working on a scrapbook that contains pictures of my mother and me and all of her handwritten and typewritten recipes. It also features recipes clipped from our local newspaper and from magazines of the 1960’s and 1970’s. I’ve titled it “From my Mother’s Kitchen; Recipes from Childhood.” I’m writing my memories associated with various recipes and photographs. (I’ve shed a few tears while doing this.) Some of my mother’s handwritten recipes are over 50 years old and are the only examples of her handwriting that I have. So far, I’m very proud of how things are turning out.

Blogging Honesty

 

 

 

 

Whew! Sorry, Tom! I’ve let you down with finishing my 31 Days of Blogging honesty! But, I am a girl who always keeps her promises, so here is Day 21!

Day # 21 Question: Someone, or something, I know I should have let go of a long time ago is…

Something that I should have let go of a long time ago is my belief that people will always do things to the same high standard that I’ve set for myself. I tend to be a bit of a perfectionist in everything I do and I sometimes find myself disappointed when others don’t do things in the same way that I would have. I’ve especially seen this in various work settings that I’ve been in throughout my lifetime. I’ve worked in restaurants, a state park, a women’s shelter, and in schools. No matter what the level of job, I always performed it to the very best of my abilities. If I’m cooking your burger, it’s going to be one of the best damn burgers you’ve ever had. If I’m scrubbing your toilet, it’ll be as clean as you would expect it to be in your own home. If I’m lifeguarding your child at a pool, filling out a Family Protection Act for you, or teaching your child how to read, you can be certain that you’re getting the best of me. BUT, that’s the kind of person that I was raised to be and I have to realize that not everyone has the same work ethic or standards. Please don’t think that my streak of perfectionism renders me a complaining bi-otch every time something isn’t done in the way that I deem proper, because I’m not. I choose my battles carefully and politely and usually only complain if something is a health hazard! I forgive easily and move on. Still, I’m, at times, inwardly nagged when things aren’t as nice as if I would have done them and that’s what I need to stop worrying about.

Hope everyone has a wonderful week!

15 thoughts on “Monday Mumblings!

  1. I love your Something To Let Go Of… I struggle with that every day! And your True Blood dinner? Food Pyramid be darned. I’m convinced Bacon should have its own chunk of the triangle 🙂

      • Look at it this way, if you must: I just read a factoid in Cooking Light Magazine, that said turkey bacon was worse than regular bacon. At least, I think that’s what it said. Well, I sure do HOPE that’s what it said!

  2. This behavior is especially disturbing to others when I’m shopping alone.
    This made me belly-laugh aloud. Ba.D. stared at me with a raised eyebrow. “Nothin’. Sprinkles on shopping. It’s funny . . . ” I didn’t share the actual thing with him, though. He’s doing enough talking for two at the moment!

    I loved all of this entry, though. So much funny and so much heart, all in the same place.

    • Thanks, Deb! Online shopping has made my life so much easier! My daughter is a far worse shopper than I am and we always have to force ourselves to make a shopping trip. Sadly, it’s difficult to shop for business-type clothing online. We survived though! 🙂

  3. Wow, Sprinkles! I could sure use your skills around here in a month. My daughter and I are moving with, so far, my little 1992 Mustang. We don’t have much but it’s hard to be motivated. Send me some Rah Rahs there lady!
    I think Bacon is an entree along with cheese. Turkey bacon is a conspiracy of something I’m sure. Leave those poor birds alone, I say!
    I wish I could shop on line then I would all the time.
    Really great post, Spinkles. I learned a lot!

  4. Rah, Rah, Rah!! You can do it Marie!!!! 🙂 I’m sure you and your daughter will do a great job with your move!

    I’m totally with you on bacon, but I have to draw the line with too much cheese (lactose intolerant!)

    I usually reserve my shopping online for Christmastime and for when it’s something I need. Anytime I can avoid the crowds of shopping in public, I’m happy!

  5. It’s ironic that when I finally got back over here, you had the same situation I’ve had, sort of. In my case, it’s been not keeping up with reading your blog. I’ve been working relentlessly on my own sites. (And I’m like you, if I’m going to do something; I want to do the best job of it I can.)

    I absolutely love the way you write. You can write about anything and make it interesting. You remind me of Anne Tyler in that regard.

    • Thank you so much! This is a very busy summer. We just moved my daughter in her new apartment today. We still have some more to do tomorrow. We should be back before the 4th and I hope to be getting more blogging done then! 🙂

  6. Absolutely love the idea of scrap booking – really is that something people do a lot of over there in the US? You have inspired me, it is such a good idea.. Love your take on the shopping too – and the letting go – my favourite on that is ‘letting go is not getting rid of, letting go is letting be…’ Took me a LONG time to figure that one out 🙂 And I’m making bowing movements at your powers of packing and driving! Loved this post 🙂

    • Thank you so much! Scrapbooking is a popular hobby in the US. My youngest daughter takes tons of photographs and has a very artistic eye. She’s the one who inspired me to do the book of my mom’s recipes.
      The packing worked out beautifully! She’s going to have to take one more small load of things to her apartment before school starts, but I think we did an amazing job of getting most of her stuff there in one trip. It did help that a local furniture store delivered her bed and sofa! Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

