Tom Asks Great Questions!

What is the one thing that you did as a kid that you wish it was still okay for you to do now, at your current age?…

This is a great question posed by my buddy, Tom Baker over at The Morning Erection, and since I’m up way past my bedtime, cranked full of caffeine, I’m all for the challenge of answering it! My first mental response was flagrant nose picking. Then I remembered my time spent in charm school where Mrs. Miles, my Uber-polite teacher, reminded me time and time again that nose mining is not an activity befitting of a lady. Now, after a few pleasant moments of revisiting the simple pleasures of childhood, I realize that there is nothing that I did way back then that would be forbidden for me to do now.

In my youth, I loved the outdoors. The majority of my free time was spent biking, swimming, and playing games of make-believe in the woods behind my house. These things are all still feasible. I have a perfectly lovely 10-speed in my shed, and while I may not have the same stamina, the same carefree schedule, or the same quick access to a pool and wooded area that I had in my childhood, a quick drive to a nearby park could easily fix that. I have no doubt that I could out bike and out swim any porky little kid who normally spends most of his or her time on a sofa, in a supine position, playing video games and eating endless sleeves of Chips Ahoy for dinner. And, when it comes to imaginary play, I’d have all of those little suckers beat! Look out park patrons, Sprinkles is playing Army just like she used to when she was ten! I might look a bit silly in the woods stalking my husband with a toy rifle in the same way that I would have hunted my brother years ago. I might even get questioned by the park police, but I’m sure, after a short explanation of how I’m revisiting my youth, I wouldn’t be banned from the park, taken to a psychiatric facility for observation, or placed on a terrorist suspect list, at all.

So, there you have it! My answer is a big old nothing. There is nothing I can’t do now that I did way back then (except touch my brain with my index finger via my nostril). No matter how old I live to be, my inner-child is always ready to pop to the surface for an appearance. What about you, dear readers? What activity calls to you from your youth?

7 thoughts on “Tom Asks Great Questions!

  1. I second your answer. It’s considerations like this that leave me unable to answer the question, “What do you want for your birthday?” with anything more than a blank stare. If there’s something I want or need, I’m now much better equipped to do it. Why have someone else do/get it for me?

    If the question were phrased a little differently, that being said, I would have answered, “Get a hug from my mom . . .”

    Also? WIENERSCHNITZEL! Don’t want to end on a sad note 😉

    • Ha! You said wiener! Ya know, I would choose the same thing you did if the question were phrased a bit differently, too.

      ((((HUG)))) for you!!!

      Wow, you’re fast on the commenting. You must be hanging out on the Twitter! 🙂

  2. When I was younger, I didn’t mind getting dirty. I’d play outside with my brother all the time and come back filthy.

    Now I hate seeing dirt under my fingernails. I wish I could not mind being dirty again!

  3. Pingback: It’s Fun Bunny Friday! Write away! « Journalization

Leave a Reply

