Day 17: 31 Days of Blogging Honesty

 

 

 

 

Day # 17 Question: Given the choice between giving up sex for the rest of my life or giving up kissing, I would choose…

Photo courtesy of Wikipedia

Remember in the movie Pretty Woman when Julia Robert’s character, Vivian, told Richard Gere’s character, Edward, that she had a strict “no kissing” rule? In so many words, she told him that it was too personal, yet by the end of the film she threw her “no smooching” regulation out the window and played some serious tonsil hockey with old Eddie. As viewers of the flick, we knew that this was the point that Vivian had fallen in love with Edward. It was the moment when rules no longer mattered and she was willing to engage in an act that she believed to be far more intimate than sex.

At first, I was going to impulsively say that I would give up kissing, because who really wants to give up what most consider being the ultimate act of intimacy, sex? But then, my husband’s simple goodbye kiss this morning made me rethink my answer. A kiss can mean so many things that sex cannot. It can be the first greeting given or the last touch when you say goodbye. Remember when you were “sweet 16 (now days perhaps sweet 14 or 15) and had never been kissed?” Recall the awkward anticipation of lips against yours and the secret thrill of meeting a milestone when at last you engaged in your perfectly imperfect first one? A bride and groom kiss when they are pronounced husband and wife. Loved ones kiss the forehead of a friend or relative who had passed away, in a final goodbye. We kiss mothers, fathers, children, brothers, sisters, nieces, nephews, friends, and even our pets. Sex could never replace all of the beautiful things that a kiss means, and if we tried to replace a kiss with sex, well, that would just be awkward!

10 thoughts on “Day 17: 31 Days of Blogging Honesty

  1. “…if we tried to replace a kiss with sex, well, that would just be awkward!” In so many unexpected ways!

    I must say that your answer is possibly the best answer out of all the questions and answers thus far. Way to go!

  2. I am so freakin’ tired there’s no way I’ll say this as well as I’d like, but . . . this answer was beautiful. I don’t think I’d really decided which way I’d answer till I read your take, following which it seems perfectly clear: I’d give up kissing. Just kidding! I’d hate to give up everything kissing means.

    Also? Guilty confession: I haven’t seen Pretty Woman.

    • Awww, thanks! 🙂 It’s been a super duper long time since I’ve seen Pretty Woman (I had to look up Richard Gere’s character’s name!), but it’s a typical, fluffy, romantic comedy that has a happy ending. It’s the kind of movie that you watch when you want to believe that all can always be right with the world! 🙂 Get some good sleep, young lady! 🙂

  3. All sentimental reasons aside – valid as they may be – it’s really the only practical and rational choice to make. Giving up kissing would exclude you from so many behaviors, like you said, but giving up sex only excludes you from one. And isn’t that what adult toys are for anyway? 😉

    I’m with you on this! (though I hope my boyfriend doesn’t read this comment 😉 )

Leave a Reply

