Day 16: 31 Days of Blogging Honesty

 

 

 

 

Day # 16 Question: If I were given just one day to relive I would most definitely choose…

Bridal magazines are too expensive!

Lately, one of my favorite Friday night activities is watching wedding shows on TLC. Shows like  Say Yes to the Dress and Four Weddings give me a small glimpse into the lives of other women on one of their most special days. While I enjoy living vicariously through these brides as they plan their lavish weddings, I think that my own very simple wedding was perfect and it is the day that I would most like to relive.

If TLC were to make a show about my wedding it might have a title like Say No to Spending Money or Four Guests. My wedding was C-H-E-A-P, and that’s just the way my dear husband and I wanted it to be! Shortly after my husband asked me to marry him, we decided to add an addition to his existing home so that each of my daughters could have their own bedroom and my husband and I could enjoy extra closet space and a bathroom of our own. This was an expensive undertaking, so we decided that the best place to cut costs would be in the wedding department. After all, a wedding is one day, and a marriage is a lifetime.

Being a thrifty girl, I’m actually quite proud of the details of our big day. I wore a lovely, form-fitting, white, beaded dress purchase from a consignment shop for $25 and my husband wore a black suit that he already owned. My bouquet was a simple mix of flowers from our garden (free) and our venue was the county courthouse (free) with the justice of the peace officiating (so free that you’re not even allowed to tip the guy!). I splurged a bit on my daughters and took them to choose dresses and shoes from the mall. They both agreed on lavender, and all totaled with shoes and hair accessories I spent about $100. We had four guests; my ex-in-laws, whom I’ve remained good friends with, and two of my best friends who served as best man and maid of honor. Our rule for them was no gifts and no buying anything special to wear for that day. After the ceremony, we all went to lunch at a fancy restaurant with a bill of about $300. I guess we could have made things less expensive if we had all gone through a drive thru, but I thought that just seemed tacky!

The very best moment of our wedding day was when we’d said goodbye to our friends and loved ones and just the two of us were in our car heading to Rehoboth for our honeymoon. We were slightly tired from the excitement of the day and our fingers intertwined on the console as we quietly looked to the road ahead. I was thrilled, not just to be going on my first real vacation without my kids, but thrilled at all of the possibilities that our new life together would hold. So far, I haven’t been disappointed.

8 thoughts on “Day 16: 31 Days of Blogging Honesty

  1. If I get married, this is the kind of wedding I hope to have! My mom had a children’s clothing store when I was little, then moved on to consigning both children’s and adult clothing when I was later, so that I still feel a thrill when I find thrift store or consignment treasures!

    This was such a gorgeous entry–no wonder, given its author . . .

    • Awww, thank you! It was a perfect day. I’ve never been one of those fru fru girls who wants a wedding that costs tens of thousands of dollars. It just seems like a total waste of money to me.
      That’s really neat that your mom had a clothing store, and I’m sure money saving for your wardrobe! 🙂

  2. As far as I’m concerned, this is the only way to get married. The only reason mine might be bigger (assuming I will have one!) is that I have a big family, so even inviting all of them plus only my closest friends, we’re still talking about 25 people. But low low low key.

    What a great day to relive! 🙂

    • Aw, thank you Marie. My first wedding was a whole other story. It was the church kind,complete with a bride who was 5 months pregnant! My first wedding wasn’t the greatest, but it was a whole lot better than my first marriage!

  3. A pet peeve of mine is people who think spending all that money and concentrating all that effort on one single day is going to make a happy marriage.

    The effort and emphasis should be put into making the marriage last and not on a spectacular wedding no matter how much money is in your bank account. Yours sounds perfect and I pray it lasts forever. Substance over spectacle. Marriage over wedding day!

    • Thank you, Tom. I believe in my heart of hearts that my marriage will last forever :). I can’t say enough sweet things about my husband, and I’ve noticed from some of your posts that you have a pretty terrific wife! I agree, marriage over wedding day 100%!

Leave a Reply

