Day 9: 31 Days of Blogging Honesty

 

 

 

 

Day # 9 Question:  If I could create my own personal Mt. Rushmore I would honor these four individuals…

Who would you put on the mount?

My own personal Mt. Rushmore would pay homage the four people whose unconditional love has made me the person that I am today. Because the real Mt. Rushmore is rather dull and anticlimactic, once you finally take the time to view it on Google Earth, I’m going to hire a few guys who know how to use a jackhammer to re-modify the current structure.

In place of George Washington’s face I would put my mother. Washington may have been the “father of our country”, but my mother was the “mother of me” and without her, I wouldn’t be had at work typing this blog, nor would I currently be any of the fabulous things that she taught me to be.

In place of Jefferson I would carve my oldest daughter. In a letter to James Madison, Thomas Jefferson once wrote, “A little rebellion, now and then, is a good thing…” Of course Jefferson was talking about rebellion being necessary for a sound government. In the case of my daughter, rebellion meant arguing nonstop with me from the ages of 11 to 17 and various hair colors, tattoos, and piercings. However, that rebellion was necessary for her to develop into the super amazing individual that she is today.

In place of Lincoln’s visage I would put my youngest daughter’s lovely image. Lincoln was a peacemaker, and was also well known for his impartiality and fairness. These are glowing attributes of my youngest’s personality. You will never meet a person more loving or accepting.

In place of Teddy Roosevelt, I would carve my husband. Mostly because Roosevelt is the dude with the glasses, and so is my hubby. My husband also claims to “speak softly and carry a big stick,” but I’ve actually never seen him carry any sort of stick. I’ve seen him toting a laptop, huge rolls of blueprints, and our gigantic cats. Since I’m already changing a major monument, I think I’ll change that quote to “Speak softly and carry a big cat,” making my husband’s face in place of Roosevelt’s the perfect choice.

Perhaps the most amazing feature of my new and improved Mt. Rushmore isn’t the image of my family that visitors to the monument will now see lovingly jackhammered before them. The most prolific image will be the fifth face; the face that will be visible when a photo of Mt. Rushmore is viewed from the side. Most of you have probably seen this image, and heard various conjectures as to who this fifth face belongs to.

Gabby Hayes? Is that you?

When the image of the new and improved Mt. Rushmore is turned to its side, viewers will be awed by the profile of none other than  awe inspiring, magnificent Oprah! 

 

I'm giving you allllll a newwww carrrrrr!!!

 Wishing a fantastic, productive Monday to all of my blogging buddies!

**Props must be given to Wikipedia for the Thomas Jefferson quote and information.

4 thoughts on “Day 9: 31 Days of Blogging Honesty

  1. I don’t want to speculate but perhaps your husband was referring to something else when he mentioned carrying a big stick.

    All great choices and a monument that I would visit. I am so happy that after six years of rebellion your daughter turned out just fine. Of course we reap what we sow, so look after your granddaughters!

    Oprah’s grill on a monument. I think that’s just what she might want!

    • Ha! I almost wrote about what you’re referring to, but it just seemed too obvious! 🙂
      Whoa, you just made me realize the my daughter’s rebellion was ONLY six years. I promise you it felt like sooooooo much longer! Back then I wondeed if she would finish high school and now this weekend she’s graduating from college with honors, and starting medical school in August. She’s taught me that you can never judge someone based on their teen years because some teenagers are just slightly nuts! 🙂 As much as I love her, I do wish a daughter on her one day!

  2. Mostly because Roosevelt is the dude with the glasses, and so is my hubby.
    Ha! This made me laugh so hard!

    I’d never heard reference to a face visible from beneath Rushmore, so that’s both new and interesting to me. I’m not totally sure Oprah would be an improvement, but even that made me giggle.

    I ❤ your entries!

Leave a Reply

