Day 8: 31 Days of Blogging Honesty

 

 

 

 

Day # 08 Question: I wish I had never…

“… they won’t get married and they won’t have kids. That’s why your older brother’s disappearing from that photograph. Your sister will follow, and unless …”
                                                                       
Dr. Emmett Brown, Back to the Future

Revisiting the past can change the future!

It’s very easy to pop off with an answer to this question, but anyone who has ever watched Back to the Future knows that erasing an event from one’s past is sure to have an impact on one’s future. It would be very easy for me to go with my first response to this question and say that I wish I had never met my first husband. Luckily, I don’t have to be Marty McFly to know that eliminating my ex from the pages of my life would probably also delete some chapters that I deeply treasure. Eradicating his presence from my autobiography would erase all of the lessons that I learned while I was married to him. Without those lessons, I might not be the resourceful, responsible, appreciative person that I am today. Would I notice all of the nice things my current husband does for me if I had never been married to a man who wasn’t so nice? Would I perceive the simple things that many take for granted, like central air conditioning, a washer and dryer or a dishwasher, as luxury items if I had never gone without them? Would having a car that runs, a roof that doesn’t leak, and money in the bank mean as much to me now if I hadn’t felt water dripping on me in the middle of the night or wondered if I’d have enough money for groceries before payday? What about the wisdom I gained from being married to my first husband? Would I lack that now? Would I still want to date the “bad boy?” Would I settle for less than I deserve? Would I let someone hit me or take money from my purse? Who knows? The one thing I do know for certain is that I wouldn’t have the only irreplaceable gift that he ever gave me; the gift of being a mother. Certainly, I could have had children with any man, but they wouldn’t be the exact same beautiful, intelligent, thoughtful children that I have today.  Never meeting their father would erase their perfect chapters from my life, making it a book not worth reading.  

You might catch me saying that I  wish I had never eaten that last piece of pizza, or that I wish I had never heard Rebecca Black’s Friday, but you will never catch me trying to eliminate the big events that have occured in my life , because they’ve all put me in the place I am today, and I have no desire to be  anywhere else!

Happy Mother’s Day to all of the moms out there!! 🙂

6 thoughts on “Day 8: 31 Days of Blogging Honesty

  1. I just noticed that I am in your blogroll. Thanks. I hope you have enjoyed and will continue enjoying what’s left of Mother’s Day.

    Another wonderful response. It is true that the best thing to do with big things is to follow the time line and not mess with the space-time continuum.

    • You’re welcome! I’ve had a great Mother’s Day. I read for a few hours in the sun, on the patio and then went out to dinner and to see Water for Elephants–so good!

      I look forward to reading your next post! 🙂

  2. I am in love with the young Michael J. Fox. Seriously. I would marry him right now. (Or is it Marty McFly I’m in love with. Hmm.) Regardless I was happy to see you pulling out a comparison to Back to the Future. (Cleary, I am a child of the ’80s.) Questions like these provoke thoughts of stories such as, “The Butterfly Effect”, “The Time Travelers Wife” (about 30 pages left I’m going to finish before I go to bed!), “A Wrinkle in Time” and so many others. I wonder… COULD there be some life altering effect down the road had you never laid eyes on Black’s Friday??

    • I sobbed when I read the Time Traveler’s Wife! I couldn’t bring myself to watch the movie.
      I was in my late teens and twenties in the 80s! My oldest daughter is actually a year younger than you. I also like stories that involve time travel. I guess we all like to think that we could have a chance for a do over if we really wanted one! Enjoy your book! I’ve gotta get to bed! 🙂

Leave a Reply

