Like a Virgin!

My blogging buddy Deborah, over at The Monster in Your Closet, sent me my first meme!  Hopefully, I’ve done it correctly!

If you could go back in time and relive one moment, what would it be?

Though there many moments I would want to relive, I think I’d pick just an ordinary day from the summer that I was eight years old. Eight, is a perfect age. You’re still innocent enough to believe that absolutely nothing in life can ever go wrong, yet old enough to have some independence. I would get up and get dressed with absolutely NO preparation. What 8 year-old cares if they’re having a good hair day unless it’s picture day at school? I would hug my mother unbelievably hard before she left for work. Then, with our babysitter, Mrs. Michael’s permission, I would spend the entire day running, jumping, climbing, and riding my bike with my neighborhood friends, marveling at my flexibility and endurance. When Mrs. Michael called me in for lunch, I would help her with the dishes and thank her profusely for my feast of grilled cheese and tomato soup, remembering how long it had been since someone had made me lunch. I’d also apologize for all of the trouble that I most likely caused her with my penchant for poor impulse control and pesky behavior.

When 4:00 rolled around I would impatiently wait for my mother to get home. Instead of grunting a quick greeting and continuing my play, I would ask her how her day was. As she cooked dinner, which I hope would be my favorite of meatloaf, macaroni and cheese, and a salad; I would ask her all of the life questions that I didn’t get a chance to while she was living. She would probably wonder why her little, usually hyperactive, daughter sat so motionlessly watching her, drinking in her every word and gesture. She would also really wonder why her 8 year-old was asking questions like, “If your child has a fever of 99 degrees, should you take them to the pediatrician or just give them Tylenol and wait it out? After a long day of work and caring for my brother and me, her good humor would probably be tested as I found excuse after excuse to put off bedtime. I would have to fight back tears as she read me one last story, hugged and kissed me goodnight for one last time before I drifted off to sleep knowing that when I awoke my moment back in time would be over.

If you could go back in time and change one thing, what would it be?

Wow, this is hard, because changing one event that you don’t like can change so many that you do! I wasn’t very confident as a teen ager, so I would change that.

What movie/TV character do you most resemble in personality?

I asked my family about this one. They unanimously agree that I most resemble Liz Lemon from 30 Rock. They assured me that they didn’t pick her because I’m a little nerdy. They said she was their choice because I share her sarcasm. Thanks a lot, family!

If you could push one person off a cliff and get away with it, who would it be?

I’m not much of a killer, except for spiders (and then I usually hire a hit man), but since I feel obligated to kill someone now because of this meme, I’ll push my neighbor.  He’s on the sex offender’s registry.  ICK!

Name one habit you want to change in yourself.

I would like to listen more and talk less.

Describe yourself in one word.

Fun-loving

Describe the person who named you in this meme in one word.

Caring (also introspective and articulate—this isn’t cheating—words in parenthesis don’t count!)

Why do you blog? Answer in one sentence.

I love to write, and blogging is a fun way to connect with others and share work.

Name at least 3 people to send this meme to, and then inform them.

None of my subscribers have subscribed by email, so I’ll make this an open invitation to anyone who would like to answer and post these questions.

Well, now I’m no longer a meme virgin!  🙂  Enjoy your day everyone!

4 thoughts on “Like a Virgin!

  1. I LOVE this! Came to your site from the Good Greatsby because I was intrigued by wanting to see how I can save Sprinkles. I’d never heard of this meme thing before, but can already think of how I’d respond. I love that you’re family compares you to Liz Lemon. She’s my idol. Quirky and lovely and all sarcasm is a good thing. As for who I’d push off a cliff, I’m thinking The Donald. Or at the very least, his hair. Will definitely be back! 🙂

    • Thank you so much for visiting. I’m going to check out your blog, too! I love the Good Greatsby’s posts. He’s hilarious. I have to agree with you about the Donald! I picture his hair detaching and somehow managing to save itself. A combover of that magnitude is nearly impossible to kill! 🙂

  2. 1) My mouth is still watering at reference to grilled cheese sandwiches. Mmm! I love your answer to that question.

    2) I’ve never seen 3rd Rock. Is that bad? (Those words always make me think of Needful Things: “I killed my wife. Is that bad?”)

    3) Re: “person who named you”? I loved your answer to this, especially the parenthetical 😉

    4) I wish I’d adopted your strategy on tagging! I woke up yesterday morning and almost immediately thought, “I did not exclude a dozen awesome people just because I thought the list would be too long!” *headdesk*

    • Grilled cheese and tomato soup is the world’s best lunch!30 Rock is excellent. It’s really funny. I just didn’t realize that my family identified me as so sarcastic! I was actually kind of afraid to tag people who might find aswering the question similar to a chain letter (which I didn’t, I found it awesome) so I decided to open it to anyone who wanted to respond. I feel really bad that I’m stealing my neighbor’s internet signal right now to answer comments! Our area’s main internet provider is out in my town and 3 surrounding towns. Our neighbor must have a different service than ours. Thanks for tagging me. This was fun!:)

Leave a Reply

