Day 3: 31 Days of Blogging Honesty

 

 

 

 

Question # 3:  My favorite song from the year I was born is…

I was born in 1964, and because I’m super cool, I had absolutely no idea what sorts of songs were popular in the year of my birth. So, I did what every middle-aged techno-savvy fool would do, I Googled “Songs from 1964.” Here’s a link to Billboard’s top 100 songs that year. As you can see from the list, this was the year that The Beatles invaded America’s airwaves, but, obviously, it was also a time period where the somewhat dorky “doo wop” influences of the 1950’s were still fairly prevalent. I have to admit that I’m not head-over-heels in love with any of these songs. I also have to confess that I wish I were born in 2003 because that’s the year that Lil’ Jon and the East Side Boyz released “Get Low,” and it’s a mad fun song to listen to while on the treadmill. I do realize that changing my birth year to 2003 would cause my children and husband to disappear from all of our family pictures like in Back to the Future. I really don’t want that to happen, so I did another Google search. This time I searched for “Musicals released in 1964,” and was pleasantly surprised to find that My Fair Lady came out that year.

Growing up, I was a total theatre geek/really cool person. I was in an array of musical theatre productions throughout high school and college and owned nearly every soundtrack to every stage and screen musical ever produced. Lerner and Loewe’s songs from My Fair Lady are some of my favorites. Since I have to choose just one tune as a favorite for this blog, I’m picking “Wouldn’t it be Loverly?” I have very fond memories of putting on my best cockney accent and using it as an audition piece. Check it out:  See, I told you I was totally cool! 🙂

6 thoughts on “Day 3: 31 Days of Blogging Honesty

  1. It took me until just recently to see My Fair Lady and that is my favorite song from that musical. I almost went to Amazon to see if I could purchase it but since I learned it wasn’t Hepburn singing, I chose not to.

    Aren’t we all (bloggers) awesome?

  2. I find myself very lucky in terms of musical tastes. The range is the widest I’ve known anyone to have. I’m with you on being tepid about doo-wap. I like music that has substance. For instance, I have every single Beatles song, all the works of Bach and of Mozart. I love The Blues, Jazz, and early Country–the early real stuff not these things that are passed off as Country because the guy has a twangy voice. I love The Who, and I have 40 complete concerts of theirs from 1969-1979. So, how’s that for eclectic? Oh, and I can’t leave out Frank Sinatra. His music is the soundtrack of the Twentieth Century. And of course, Elvis from the Fifties, and much of his music fom the sixties, but now, I’m getting on a roll, so I better stop before I . . .

    • It sounds like your collection is enormous! Mine isn’t nearly as large, but I also enjoy a wide variety of music. Although, most of the time I just listen to whatever my daughters are listening to. Good to see you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

