Putting up Fences, Making Commitments, and Not Finding Spiders

Today was such a gorgeous day! My family and I erected (yes, I decided to use the word erected) a new split-rail fence in the front yard. (Gotta have something to keep those stray neighborhood kids from trying to pretend that they belong to us.) We had a blast building and painting together, and then going to our favorite Italian restaurant for an early dinner. Now we’re all stuffed, stiff, sunburned and slightly soused (well, at least I am). It was a truly fabulous, Leave it to Beaver kind of day!

Speaking of erections, Tom Baker over atThe Morning Erection is doing a 31 Days of Blogging Honesty challenge. All you have to do is commit to posting your answer to each of his 31 questions for 31 days. I’ve decided to participate because I have serious commitment issues; not so serious that I’d cheat on my husband or abandon a child, but let’s just say I’m not going to be the first one to raise my hand when someone says, “Who wants to be on the refreshment committee?” I’m pretty sure that committing to blogging honestly for 31 days is bound to reform me. Hop on over to his blog and check it out!

Despite the fact that I’m the proud owner of nearly graduated biology major, we have yet to determine the correct species of the three mysterious arachnids that have met an untimely death in said biologist’s bedroom. She seems to think that they are in the recluse family, but she also seems to think that she has pneumonia when it’s just a cold and bubonic plague when she merely has a mosquito bite. Whatever these spiders were, we haven’t seen any more of them. I have, however, armed my youngest daughter with the camera and have offered her a full five dollars for a clear, postable, shot of one of these little monsters. It is a well-known fact in our household that my youngest will do anything for five bucks, so I expect to have a pretty good shot if a spider shows up. Perhaps someone in the vast blogosphere can identify it.

I hope everyone has had as wonderful of a day as I have! Enjoy the remaining weekend! 🙂

Leave a Reply

